Writing Young

Being a young author is difficult. You’ve got to juggle school, stupid teenage stuff and get a quality product out as well as having to deal with actually get your novel off the ground. There are bits that your peers have no real grasping of when you’re in this situation and that can be hard. My 18th birthday is coming up is a few months, so at least most of this nonsense will be behind me. But until then, I have to deal with…

1. International Tax Regulations. None of the online publishing firms/services/whatevers allow you to sign-up as a legitimate taxpayer without asking you to go through some sort of gate. Invariably that gate requires you to be of 18 years or older. Be it PayPal, Payoneer, Amazon itself or the IRS in general, they’ll either require the age limit or information from the physical bank itself… which is a little difficult to obtain while one cannot drive.

2. Accessibility. This is another big one. Being a no-name person is made no less difficult by my current place in society. At the moment, my audience consists of the followers of this blog and one or two of my two hundred colleagues in the same grade as me who I dare to advertise in front of. Naturally, I’m slightly unhappy with that, but at least that can be fixed with old-fashioned hard work.

3. Stresses and Stupidity. Now, I’m not trying to say that working, adult people have no stress or stupidity (frankly, I’ve seen enough of both), but the stereotypical difficulty of being a teenager hits me full force sometimes. I’ve had more problems, funnily enough, with maths than I have with plot points or poignant scenes and I’ve spent more time awake at night thinking about girls I’ll never talk to than actually putting in time for writing. And when I do put in time for writing, I start flunking tests.

4. Self-Deprecation. Sometimes (read: all of the time), I make fun of myself to cope, most of the time in a joking tone. Sometimes I believe I’m not good enough, sometimes I know I’m not. There are all sorts of mental blocks and other rubbish strewn about in my head, but this makes me neither unique nor pitiable. It’s a barrier and every success story involves the breaking of barriers.

Thanks for reading and enjoy your day!

Care to share your thoughts?

