Struggles

Being a professional writer isn’t easy. Even I know that and I’m not even on the professional side of things yet. It takes a special mindset to be a writer for any given length of time and it takes a lot of sacrifice and hard work.

1. Commitment. I only know this in terms of full-length novels, but the fact is that forcing oneself to sit down every day and write is tough. And that’s what it takes to make something out of the ordinary. It takes months and years of consistent work and toil to create something one is happen with and months after that to make it serviceable.

2. Sacrifice. I’ve missed out on homework and marks to try and keep my head in the writing game. I’ve missed out on personal relaxation time, put myself under a great deal of stress and fought through headaches and sickness to get just a page done. Sometimes I don’t even manage a page but as I mentioned above, I try to be consistent in putting work down. And that takes a lot away from the rest of my life.

3. Frustration. Sometimes I can’t think because my head is so full of crappy ideas that make no sense. Sometimes my head is empty. Nothing hurts a writer more than being unable to write. One has to force oneself to work with nothing and still pump something out at the end of the day. Sometimes one just stares at the page or screen for an hour, reading what has been written down, and scraps all of it. It happens to the best of us and it sucks.

That said, it’s all to our benefit in the end. It’s hard work but it pays off… eventually. Thanks for reading and enjoy your day.

2 thoughts on “Struggles

  1. Well, this was kind of a surprise. The cover is a bit plain, the title is a little hokey and it takes a while to get started, but Blackout turned out to be one of my favorite books of the year. We have a no spoilers policy on the blog, but this is a fish-out-of-water story centering around dragons.

    I loved the dialogue, the characterization and the apparent historical accuracy–I’m actually not a stickler about that, but after checking a few references in the book, it looks like the author did his homework. The interplay between the characters was particularly well done; you get clearly defined people in your mind, not cardboard cutouts. His writing is clear and poetic in places, and I have to admit that in the last couple of chapters I had tears in my eyes and my heart in my throat.

    Is this a perfect book? Not quite–I mentioned a few quibbles at the beginning, but overall I consider my time extremely well spent. This is a “sweet” romance, so if you’re looking for graphic content then this won’t be for you, but I didn’t miss it here.

    Like

Care to share your thoughts?

